jump to navigation

COTD #24 : The Chrome Lake part 3 02.12.2008

Posted by poligraf in COTD.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

“Introspection I” is the third part, and first vocal section, of “The Chrome Lake.” The subject matter is pretty much as is implied by the title. Speaking of which, the title of the whole suite was inspired by Voivod’s “X-Ray Mirror” from their “Nothingface” album :

A polar exchange
He gloating over my fleeting image
He used to be me
He knows who is free
How long will I wait…here
Stuck in this void place…here
I can’t believe I am the image
Within the mirror
Into the chrome lake
The glass is broken
But I look the same

Here’s today’s clip. The lyrics follow below.

Verse
I see you’re down you know you can always confide in me
Over your head in haze, I will always reflect the true story
The picture that I see may not be complete but just the same
Since you don’t open up, I’ll start, it’s a part of our game

The one I see before me is lost, it’s not a pretty sight
A living dead, a ghost, a black hole starving for some light
I see you feel ignored, exploited, always out of breath
I see you feel damaged, depressed, contemplating death

It’s too hard on your nerves to recall who you must be
The way you must behave to please, please everyone you see
You don’t know who you are, you just try to fit their scheme
You even let your mind become slave, slave to their dream
Looking for advice it’s about time you found

Chorus
Another you – the real you
Afraid of the way they will see
The one who hides inside
Another you – let them see
The flame in your heart
Shine
Only you can end your misery

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

